SB 261 Voluntary Filers & Transition Plan Gaps
Every company whose voluntary California SB 261 climate risk report is on CARB's public docket, and for each report we read: whether it has a climate transition plan, whether it puts a dollar figure on climate risk, and what gap is left.
At a glance
- 69 Yes
- 18 Yes (borderline)
- 16 No (borderline)
- 84 No
Of 187 reviewed reports, 69 have a climate transition plan and 18 more are borderline yes (87 in total, 47%). 16 are borderline no and 84 have no plan (100 in total). 1 of 188 filings has not been reviewed.
- 34 Yes
- 153 No
34 of 187 reviewed reports (18%) put a dollar figure, range, band or share of EBITDA or cash flow on climate-related downside; 153 do not.
Qualitative only: 111; No targets: 90; Borderline: 42; Quantified downside disclosed: 34; Group-level only: 33; Exposure, no $: 24; Analysis done, not disclosed: 19; Targets but no plan: 8; Upside $ only: 4; Carbon price as input only: 2 (of 187 reviewed reports).
Why it matters
California's SB 261 asks large companies doing business in the state to publish a report on their climate-related financial risk and what they are doing about it. Enforcement is paused by a court injunction. Even so, 188 companies have filed one voluntarily on the California Air Resources Board's public docket.
That makes the docket one of the clearest public lists of companies that have already raised their hand on climate risk. It also shows how far each one has actually got. We read the reports, not just the filings, and recorded for each one whether there is a transition plan, whether there is a dollar figure on the risk, and what gap is left.
For anyone selling climate and sustainability solutions, those gaps are the opening.
What's inside
- Every company with a voluntary SB 261 report on CARB's docket, re-pulled Oct 11, 2026, listed A to Z
- Filing type and a link to each company's report
- Transition plan: Yes, Yes (borderline), No (borderline) or No, graded against a published rubric
- Quantified financial impact: Yes or No
- Gap type tags such as No targets, Qualitative only, Exposure without dollars, Analysis done but not disclosed, and Group-level only
- In the full download: the qualifier behind each call, evidence notes with page references, and a short read on what each gap signals for a solutions provider
Highlights
- Of 187 reviewed reports, 87 include a climate transition plan (18 of them borderline) and 100 do not.
- Only 34 of 187 reviewed reports (18%) attach a dollar figure to climate-related downside.
- 90 of 187 reviewed reports have no emissions reduction target yet.
- 41 of 187 reviewed reports say they assessed exposure or ran the analysis, but publish no dollar figure.
Who it's for
Sales and marketing teams at sustainability solutions providers: climate risk analytics, transition planning, carbon accounting, resilience and adaptation, energy and advisory. Every company here has already engaged with climate risk in public. Many have stopped partway.
Sustainability professionals making the case internally. See what peers and competitors filed, and how a published plan or a quantified risk figure compares with what your company has today.
How to use it
Start with the gap type. No targets points to target setting and transition planning. Exposure without dollars, and analysis done but not disclosed, point to financial quantification and scenario work. Qualitative only is the widest opening of all. Where a company has put a dollar figure on its risk but has no plan, the business case is already written in its own report.
Before you reach out, read the evidence notes and the signal line in the download, and quote the company's own page numbers. Each call is about the filed report, not the company's whole program, so treat it as a conversation starter, not a verdict.
Get the full list
Enter your work email to download the full spreadsheet: all 188 companies, the qualifier and evidence behind every call, what each gap signals, and an About sheet with the rubric and sources. It's free, and we'll let you know when we re-pull the docket.
Get the listSB 261 vs SB 253
What SB 261 is
Focus: financial risk from climate change. Companies must publish a report describing their material climate-related financial risks and the measures they are taking to reduce or adapt to those risks. Applies to U.S. business entities doing business in California with annual revenue over $500 million. Reports are required every two years. It does not require companies to calculate and disclose a full GHG inventory the way SB 253 does.
The easiest way to remember it
SB 253 = "How much greenhouse gas are you emitting?" · SB 261 = "How is climate change financially affecting your business, and what are you doing about it?"
Revenue thresholds
SB 261: $500M+ revenue · SB 253: $1B+ revenue.
Key findings
- 188 companies have a voluntary SB 261 climate-related financial risk report on the California Air Resources Board's public docket (re-pulled Oct 11, 2026). Enforcement of SB 261 is paused by a Ninth Circuit injunction, so every one of these filings is voluntary. We reviewed 187 of the 188 reports; the one we could not review is Premier Packaging, whose current report we could not find online.
- 87 of 187 reviewed reports (47%) describe a climate transition plan, 18 of them borderline. The other 100 do not (16 borderline), and 90 of 187 reviewed reports set no emissions reduction target at all.
- Only 34 of 187 reviewed reports (18%) put a dollar figure on climate-related downside. 111 describe their risks in words or ratings only, and 41 say they assessed exposure or ran the numbers but publish no figure.
- 12 of the 34 reviewed reports that quantify climate risk have no transition plan. Resonetics models a $23M decline in asset value and says it has not acted or set targets; Rady Children's Hospital puts flood and storm losses at $53M to $131M with no emissions targets; Halozyme Therapeutics charts a carbon cost of up to about $25M by 2050 with no reduction targets; Palomar Health prices utility outages at $0.5M to $1M a day.
- Some of the biggest numbers sit in parent-company documents: AGC Inc. (for AGC America) puts carbon pricing at up to about $1.4bn a year under a net-zero scenario, Infosys Ltd puts heat and water stress at $31M to $35M a year, and Tate & Lyle PLC estimates $25M to $30M from water stress on corn sourcing. 33 of 187 reviewed reports rely on group-level documents.
- Targets can also move the wrong way. MongoDB pushed its net-zero year from 2030 to 2050 as its reported emissions rose about 48%, and Frontier Group Holdings calls itself America's greenest airline by fuel efficiency but has no emissions reduction target in its 10-K.
The data
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Company | Filing type | Report | Transition plan | Quantified financial impact | Gap type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3Degrees Group | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| A.P. Moller - Maersk | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| Acer America | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| Acuren | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | Yes | No targetsQuantified downside disclosedBorderline |
| ADB Safegate | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | No targetsQualitative onlyBorderline |
| ADT | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Advanced Drainage Systems | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| AGC America (AGC Flat Glass North America) | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| Allnex USA | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| Alnylam Pharmaceuticals | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Ameresco | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | No targetsQualitative onlyBorderline |
| America Fujikura Ltd | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | Exposure, no $Targets but no planBorderline |
| American Renal Management | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| American Trailer World | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| APTIM | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Arbor Realty Trust | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Ashtead Group | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes (borderline) | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| ATG Entertainment | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative onlyUpside $ only |
| Audemars Piguet | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Audia | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Austin Powder | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsAnalysis done, not disclosed |
| AVI-SPL | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Azuria Water Solutions | Link-only | Report | No (borderline) | No | Targets but no planQualitative onlyBorderline |
| Baker Tilly (incl. Moss Adams) | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Balchem Corporation | Resubmission | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Bausch + Lomb | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | No targetsQualitative onlyBorderline |
| BB Energy USA | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| BDP International | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| BECU | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| BellRing Brands | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Bridgestone Americas | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| C.W. Driver Holdings | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Cadence Design Systems | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosed |
| Cal-Maine Foods | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Calix | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Callaway Golf Company | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Cascades | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| CCL Industries | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Chamberlain Group | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedTargets but no planBorderline |
| Ciena | Link-only | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosed |
| Composites One | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| CompuCom Systems | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Concentra | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsAnalysis done, not disclosed |
| ConvergeOne | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Exposure, no $Analysis done, not disclosedBorderline |
| Corning Incorporated | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosedUpside $ only |
| Coty | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosed |
| Daimler Truck North America | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosedGroup-level only |
| Deckers Outdoor Corporation | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| DLR Group | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsAnalysis done, not disclosed |
| Dräger | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | Targets but no planQualitative onlyGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| Dyno Nobel | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| EG America | Resubmission | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Eide Bailly | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| EisnerAmper | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Electrolux Group | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyCarbon price as input onlyGroup-level only |
| Elevance Health | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Emanate Health | Link-only | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targets |
| Envu (Environmental Science U.S.) | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Esri | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Ethan Allen | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| EthosEnergy | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Fabletics | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Fisher & Paykel Healthcare | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosedGroup-level only |
| Forward Air | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | Targets but no planQualitative onlyBorderline |
| Frontier Group Holdings | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Genentech (Roche) | Link-only | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Gentex | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Geotab | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Gerson Lehrman Group | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| GG Brands Company | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsAnalysis done, not disclosed |
| Gilbane | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| GILLIG | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Grant Thornton Advisors | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Great Dane | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Group 1 Automotive | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Gunderson Dettmer | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Halozyme Therapeutics | Statement file | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targetsBorderline |
| HBX Group | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Helen of Troy | Link-only | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| HH Global | Resubmission | Report | Yes (borderline) | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedBorderline |
| HOK Group | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Upside $ only |
| Idemitsu Apollo Corporation | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Incora | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Infosys | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| Insmed | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| International Paper | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Carbon price as input onlyAnalysis done, not disclosed |
| J.D. Power | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Jet Support Services | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Kawasaki Motors Corp USA | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| Kenan Advantage Group | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| KinderCare Learning Companies | Statement file | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targetsBorderline |
| Langan Engineering | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Lime | Link-only | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Littelfuse | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Littler Mendelson | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative onlyBorderline |
| LiveRamp Holdings | Resubmission | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targets |
| LIXIL Corporation | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| Mainfreight | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targetsGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| MAPEI Corporation | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Maritz | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Exposure, no $Borderline |
| Matheson Tri-Gas | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| MedRisk | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Memorial Health Services | Link-only | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| Mercedes-Benz USA | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosedGroup-level only |
| Metsä Board | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Midwest Veterinary Supply | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Mill Creek Residential Trust | Resubmission | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Mimecast | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Mobico Group | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| Molina Healthcare | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| MongoDB | Link-only | Report | No (borderline) | No | Analysis done, not disclosedBorderline |
| Montrose Environmental Group | Statement file | Report | No | No | Targets but no planQualitative only |
| Myriad Genetics | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Natera | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Netskope | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Nissui USA | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| NorthBay Healthcare Group | Link-only | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targets |
| NV5 | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedBorderline |
| O.C. Tanner | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| OHLA USA | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Olin Corporation | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Olympus Corporation | Resubmission | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| One Identity | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Oregon Tool | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| OSI Systems | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Palomar Health | Link-only | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targets |
| Patagonia Works | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Exposure, no $ |
| Pattern Energy | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| PBF Energy | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Performance Contracting Group | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| PG&E | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| PIP Global Safety | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Pirelli Tire (Pirelli) | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosedGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| Premier Packaging | Statement file | Report | Not yet reviewed | Not yet reviewed | |
| Prolec | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Proofpoint | Resubmission | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Quanex Building Products | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| Quest Diagnostics | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Quest Software | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| QuoteWizard | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Rady Children's Hospital | Link-only | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targets |
| Rakuten International | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Ramboll Group | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Resonetics | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | Yes | No targetsQuantified downside disclosed |
| Rexel USA | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Exposure, no $Analysis done, not disclosedGroup-level only |
| Rexford Industrial Realty | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Roche Diagnostics | Link-only | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level only |
| Room & Board | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Safe-Guard Products International | Statement file | Report | No | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedNo targetsBorderline |
| Samtec | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | No targetsQualitative onlyBorderline |
| Santa Monica Seafood | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Schneider Electric | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| Scotiabank | Link-only | Report | Yes | No | Exposure, no $ |
| Sekisui House | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| Serco | Resubmission | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| SEW-Eurodrive | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Shorr Packaging Corp | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Shurtape Technologies | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | Targets but no planQualitative onlyBorderline |
| Slalom | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| SMA Group | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level onlyUpside $ only |
| Smartsheet | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| Soho House | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes (borderline) | No | Analysis done, not disclosedBorderline |
| StandardAero | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Qualitative only |
| STG Logistics | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Stifel Financial | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| STIHL | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | No targetsExposure, no $Borderline |
| Swinerton | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| TACenergy | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Tate & Lyle | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| TCW | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| The Baldwin Insurance Group | Link-only | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| The Chefs' Warehouse | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| The Estée Lauder Companies | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedBorderline |
| Toast | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Tricon Energy | Statement file | Filed on CARB docket | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyBorderline |
| Univar Solutions | Statement file | Report | Yes | No | Analysis done, not disclosed |
| USA Takara Holding | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| Valve Corporation | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Varsity Brands | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsExposure, no $ |
| Visual Comfort | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Walsh Group | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Wasserman | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
| Wayfair | Link-only | Report | No (borderline) | No | Targets but no planAnalysis done, not disclosedBorderline |
| WE Soda | Statement file | Report | Yes (borderline) | No | Qualitative onlyGroup-level onlyBorderline |
| WeDriveU | Statement file | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosedGroup-level only |
| West Monroe | Statement file | Report | No (borderline) | No | No targetsQualitative onlyBorderline |
| Yusen Logistics | Link-only | Report | Yes | Yes | Quantified downside disclosed |
| ZOLL Medical Corporation | Statement file | Report | No | No | No targetsQualitative only |
25 reports were uploaded to CARB rather than hosted by the company. We don't link CARB-hosted files (they can include submitter details); those rows say 'Filed on CARB docket'.
Filing type: Statement file = a file uploaded to CARB; Link-only = the filing links to a report on the company's own site; Resubmission = a later filing that replaces or adds to an earlier one.
The qualifiers, evidence notes with page references, and what each gap signals are in the full download.
Methodology & sources
We pulled every released submission from the California Air Resources Board's public docket for Climate-Related Financial Risk Reports (SB 261), first on Sept 11, 2026 and again on Oct 11, 2026. The Oct 11 re-pull added 17 submissions, for 188 in total: one row per released submission, one company per row, sorted A to Z.
We read each company's filed report in full (the document on CARB or the report the filing links to) and recorded two calls, a qualifier for each, the gap types, page-referenced evidence and a short note on what the gap signals. As of Oct 11, 2026, 187 of 188 reports are reviewed. Premier Packaging is not: its filing points to a sustainability page that does not link to a current report.
On Oct 11, 2026 we applied the rubric below to every reviewed report, standardised the qualifier wording and re-graded six transition-plan calls that did not fit it.
Transition plan = Yes when the report sets targets with a size and a date plus named levers or a plan. Borderline = an intensity-only target, an undisclosed target size, an aspirational goal or an unpublished plan.
Quantified financial impact = Yes when the report gives a downside dollar figure, range or band, or a share of EBITDA or cash flow. Past-event losses count. Parent-company figures count, with a caveat. A figure that sits only in an external document counts only with a qualifier. Upside-only dollar figures, a carbon price used only as an input, exposure without dollars, and analysis that is not disclosed are No.
The docket opened Dec 1, 2025 and the submittal window runs to Dec 31, 2026. CARB reviews submissions for 3 to 4 weeks before releasing them, so the docket lags actual filings.
A Ceres / G&A Institute analysis (Sept 1, 2026) covered 154 filers as of early May 2026; the docket has grown to 188 since. Ceres / G&A Institute report.
Definitions
- Voluntary filer
- A company whose SB 261 climate-related financial risk report CARB has released on its public docket. Enforcement of SB 261 is paused by a Ninth Circuit injunction (Chamber of Commerce v. Sanchez), so every filing is voluntary.
- Transition plan: Yes / Yes (borderline) / No (borderline) / No
- Yes means the report sets emissions reduction targets with a size and a date, and names the levers or plan to reach them. Borderline means a close call: an intensity-only target, an undisclosed target size, an aspirational goal, or a plan that is referenced but not published. No means no targets, or targets without a plan.
- Quantified financial impact: Yes / No
- Yes means the report puts a dollar figure, range or band, or a share of EBITDA or cash flow, on climate-related downside. Losses from past events count. A parent company's figures count, with a caveat. Figures that sit only in an external document (such as a CDP response) count only when the report points to them, and the qualifier says so. Upside-only dollar figures, a carbon price used only as a model input, exposure without dollars, and analysis that is not disclosed all count as No.
- Not yet reviewed
- The report has not been read yet (1 row: Premier Packaging, whose current report we could not find). It is never counted as No.
Gap types
- No targets
- No emissions reduction target with a size and a date yet (includes targets still being evaluated or only aspirational).
- Targets but no plan
- Targets are set, but the report names no levers or plan to reach them.
- Borderline
- At least one of the two calls (transition plan, quantified impact) is a close call; the qualifier in the download says why.
- Qualitative only
- Risks are described in words or High / Medium / Low ratings, with no dollar figures.
- Exposure, no $
- Exposure was assessed (hazard maps, scores, scenarios) but no dollar figure is given.
- Analysis done, not disclosed
- The report says financial impacts were modelled or quantified, but publishes no figure.
- Upside $ only
- Dollar figures are given only for opportunities (for example green revenue), not for downside.
- Carbon price as input only
- A carbon price is used in planning or investment decisions, but no resulting impact figure is disclosed.
- Group-level only
- The report is the parent or group's document; the filing entity is not broken out.
- Quantified downside disclosed
- A strength, not a gap: the report puts a dollar figure, range, band or % of EBITDA or cash flow on climate-related downside.
Sources
- California Air Resources Board, Climate-Related Financial Risk Reports (SB 261) public docket · Pulled Sept 11, 2026; re-pulled Oct 11, 2026
- Each company's filed report (on CARB, or on the company's own site for link-only filings) · Linked per row where the company hosts it; CARB-hosted files are not linked
- Ceres and G&A Institute, Trends in Climate Risk Reporting: Lessons from Initial Voluntary Corporate Reports under California's SB 261 · Context only (Sept 1, 2026; covered 154 filers as of early May 2026).
Caveats
- Calls are about the filed report only, not a company's whole climate program. Borderline calls are marked, and the qualifier in the download says why.
- Resubmission rows are later filings by the same company; the list is otherwise as released by CARB, one row per released submission.
- 33 of 187 reviewed reports rely on a parent or group document (e.g. Matheson Tri-Gas uses parent Nippon Sanso's TCFD disclosure, AGC America uses AGC Inc.'s). Their calls reflect the group document and are flagged 'parent-company level' in the qualifiers. Baker Tilly filed jointly with Moss Adams.
- The Estée Lauder Companies is rated quantified only via the CDP response its report's TCFD index cites; scoped strictly to its own report it would be No.
- Schneider Electric's report URL in its CARB filing is dead (404); a working URL is used.
- 25 reports live only on CARB and are not linked here; open CARB's public docket to find them.
- Legal status (the Ninth Circuit injunction pausing enforcement) is as of Oct 11, 2026.
How to cite
Upside ESG, “SB 261 Voluntary Filers & Transition Plan Gaps”, upside-esg.com/resources/sb261-voluntary-filers, accessed <date>. Underlying filings: California Air Resources Board SB 261 public docket.
Download the full SB 261 list
Download the full list of 188 companies as a spreadsheet, with the qualifier and evidence behind every call and what each gap signals, and get updates when we re-pull the docket.
Free. Your download opens as soon as you submit, and we'll let you know when this resource is updated. Unsubscribe anytime.
Related reading
FAQ
How many companies have voluntarily filed under California SB 261?
188 companies had voluntary SB 261 reports on CARB's public docket when we re-pulled it on Oct 11, 2026. CARB releases submissions 3 to 4 weeks after review, so the docket lags actual filings.
What is the difference between SB 261 and SB 253?
SB 253 = "How much greenhouse gas are you emitting?" · SB 261 = "How is climate change financially affecting your business, and what are you doing about it?" SB 261: $500M+ revenue · SB 253: $1B+ revenue.
How many SB 261 filers have a climate transition plan?
Of the 187 reports we reviewed, 87 (47%) describe a climate transition plan, 18 of them borderline. 100 do not (16 borderline).
How many SB 261 reports put a dollar figure on climate risk?
34 of 187 reviewed reports (18%) give a downside dollar figure, range, band or share of EBITDA or cash flow. Upside-only figures, a carbon price used only as an input and exposure without dollars do not count.